CityBeat’s Living Out Loud – Cincinnati Blog











{August 23, 2006}   The Garden of Eden

Okay, according to the bible, God told Adam, Don’t eat from the tree of knowledge, or you will surely die that day. (Gen. 2:17)

Then the serpent tells Eve, You’re not going to die; God just doesn’t want you to know what he knows. (Gen. 3:4-5)

Adam and Eve eat the fruit and God says, Oh no, man has eaten from the tree of knowledge, and now he knows good and evil as we do. Now we have to kick him out of the garden before he eats from the tree of life and lives forever, too. (Gen. 3:22)

So here’s my question: If you read it literally, who was lying to Adam and Eve, and who was telling the truth?

This is what sparked the idea for my book. There’s this guy named Ken Ham who’s building a $25 million creationist museum in Kentucky, and his whole premise is that you have to read Genesis literally. So just for laughs, I picked up Genesis and started to read it literally, which is when I reached my epiphany: that it was God who lied and the serpent that told the truth (also, there is no literal reference to the serpent being Satan).

Heather Annastasia Siladi

Jim says:

God doesn’t lie, Heather. Read your bible again.



Jack says:

The bible is a work of fiction. Having said that, yes, the serpent told the truth.



Karen says:

Here’s a question: has anybody out there read the bible from cover to cover? Not me!



Sarah says:

I sort of view this post as a trashing of the bible. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised. Larry Gross in some of this columns has made it clear that he’s not religious and now Heather is taking issue with faith here. I know it’s the ‘in’ thing these days to trash it, but it really turns me off. I happen to belive in the bible.



Larry Gross says:

Sarah:

I can’t recall in any column I’ve written any religious trashing. Seriously. I’ve let it be known that I’m not very religious but that’s about it. In fact, pick up the current CityBeat. I wrote the lead news story about the Franciscans who had speakers come to Xavier University this past Saturday night. There’s no trashing – just reporting.

And Heather’s not trashing either. This blog was written to generate discussion and debate.

Believe in the bible – nothing wrong with that. There’s also nothing wrong in not believing it.



C.A. MacConnell says:

My God prefers apples with peanut butter.



jake says:

no one was lying to adam and eve. they didn’t exist!



Karen: I have read the Bible cover to cover. I have read the Koran cover to cover twice. I have read much of the Apocrapha and the Pseudographia, which are the Jewish writings that occurred between the Old Testament and the New Testament (let’s not forget that the Old Testament is the Torah).

I was raised very religious and I have been very religious for about 25 of my 28 years on earth. My only problem with religion is that if you question it, you are “trashing” it. I was asked not to come back to many Sunday schools for my insistent questions, and that was when I firmly believed all of this stuff, I just wanted to understand the parts that didn’t make sense to me.

I am not offended when people do not agree with me.

My only point with this post is that you can’t, as Ken Ham says, read the Bible literally. Ken Ham specifically made the point that the Earth is only five thousand years old. He was attacking people that believe in science AND the Bible; people who say that the Earth wasn’t literally created in seven days because who knows what a “day” is to God. Ken says a day is a day, and that’s that. So if when God says “a day” he litarally means “a day,” then he couldn’t have been telling the truth when he told Adam “for in the day that thou eatest therof thou shalt surely die.”

So let’s just talk about this without getting angry. I am not capable of attacking anyone’s faith because faith is believing in something without a logical reason to believe it. So if logic tests your faith, that’s not my fault. I have no control over your faith or lack thereof.



Heather –

It’s not possible to talk about religion and not get people angry. I’m staying out of this one.



Oh yeah, that’s my other problem with religion. 1) if ou question it you’re “trashing” it. 2) People get so angry about it.

For all you people if faith: Why get angry? If you’re right and I’m wrong, I’m going to burn in Hell forever! If nothing else, you should feel sorry for me and be nice! You have Heaven to look forward to, why would you be angry about that?



Sarah says:

I happen to agree with what Ken Ham says. You liberal people aren’t always right.



Doc says:

dulu zain saidin yg cari borang bearcrei utk ayu raudhah dalam cerita Gemersik Kalbu, la ni turn kakaknya plak ambil borang bercerai tapi in real life.



Now we’re getting somewhere!

Okay, if we’re taking the bible literally, then why, if God told Adam he would die “in the day that” he ate the fruit, did Adam live to be 930 years old(literally!)? (Gen. 5:5)

And, if we’re talking literal, then the serpent was just a serpent. (The concept of “Satan” didn’t even exist at the time that Genesis was written).



Sarah says:

Did Adam live to be 930 years old? Of course he did! Sometimes you have to have faith.



numb says:

i love how so-called professional writers like heather and larry like to make the rest of us feel stupid. some of us can’t twist the words around like the two of you.



Sara: You have true faith. Good for you, I have no problem with that.

I do have a problem with people who clearly do not have true faith because they get mean and angry when someone questions their beliefs. It’s like the gay people who can’t admit that they’re gay, and beat up on the people who are open about being gay.



Jim Stanton says:

Great – let’s bring the gays into this.

Is there anyway we can cut off this blog post? I’m done with it. I’m going to tell Jim Allen what I had for lunch.



Tracy says:

You know what religion does? It makes people stop thinking.



Phil says:

I agree with Tracy and in viewing a lot of the comments on this blog, many have stopped thinking because of religion. I’m sure Sarah means well, but this blind faith is, well, I’m sorry, stupid. Anyone who believes this world was built in 6 days has their head up their behind.

Phil



numb: there’s no such thing as a “so-called” professional writer. You either get paid to write or you don’t.



Geralyn says:

visto che ha toccato livello resistenza 2330 e c’e il segnale di entrata ritento short 2330 con stop st8.ott&#r230;e.oggi non sarebbe la giornata di shortare ma con stop rigidi si puo tentare, come cambia il mondo in 24 ore…..



Oh yeah, anyone who would like to read my award-winning 25 page essay on the concept of Satan can do so at:

http://heatherannastasia.com/satan-progress.html

It’s not a terribly exciteing read if you’re not into that sort of thing, so I’m not recommending it, I’m just putting it out there.

And don’t read a quarter of it and get angry! Just read it or don’t read it.



numb says:

yeah right. i’ve gone to your website. you gonna tell me you don’t get paid for writing for those papers? i know better.



No, I’m saying I do get paid.



numb says:

ah yes, the all mighty paid writer with the liberal opinions.



Larry Gross says:

yo – numb

I’m the editor on this blog and unless you really have something to say, I’m going to start deleting your e-mails.

I see you all over the local blogs offering nothing but silliness and put downs. Do that on the other blog sites that aren’t filtered buddy. Everytime someone comments here, I get an e-mail sent to me. Your comments look like they have been written by a retarded mouse.

Have something to offer at the table or stay under it.



Hannah says:

It’s really great that people are sharing this inoormatifn.



I tried viewing your web site with my mobile phone and the layout doesnt seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellphone layouts are not really working with your website.



Bill says:

This has been quite a day for Heather, having to defend herself against the defensive religious – dare I say it? – nuts. Tracy said religion stops you from thinking. I think that’s about right. Heather’s blog was to generate debate. Look what she got? Defensive christian nuts – just like our president.

For what it’s worth, heather, I enjoyed your blog and a few of the comments. I also checked out your website. Pretty cool.



Jeff- or-ly says:

YES, YES, YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! enough of this numb guy. i’m sick of him too.



My only frustration is that I can never get a competent argument out of a religious person. There’s no arguing at all with the truly faithful, they just put their fingers in their ears and say “la la la, I can’t hear you,” and the pseudo-faithful just get angry and throw out personal attacks (thereby evading the argument altogether).

I would be interested in a real debate with a really faithful person, but I’m starting to believe that it’s just not possible. I’m not trying to convert anyone (or de-convert?), I just want material for my book; I want to understand religious people.



Matt says:

It seems like you got a lot of comments here, but no real debate. When it comes to the bible, that’s what you’re going to get.



Tracy says:

Matt –

There can be no debate about this. People who THINK don’t believe the bible and people who believe the bible just get defensive about it.



C.A. MacConnell says:

Screw the stupid bible debate. This is more important: Did I read this correctly, YOU guys are getting PAID?



C.A. MacConnell says:

Forget the bible debate. This is more important: Did I read this correctly, YOU guys are getting PAID?



Larry Gross says:

Forget the bible debate – screw the stupid bible debate? Are you asking if we’re getting paid to write this blog? The answer is NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!



C.A. MacConnell says:

Whew.



C.A. MacConnell says:

I am relieved. Now I’m reassured that I’m actively participating in goofy stuff for no monetary benefit. I feel much better.



Sorry about that C.A., I was just responding to the comment about “so-called” professional writers. I was saying that you either get paid to write or you don’t. I get paid to write, but not for this blog. This is just pure mindless entertainment.



C.A. MacConnell says:

No, no, no…I was totally kidding about the whole thing. Didn’t mean to offend anyone at all. And didn’t mean to downplay the importance of the issues you were bringing up. Sorry bout that.



No, I mean in it. This is fun.

I mean, it’s kind of serious. I think the whole “faith vs. logic” issue is an important one, but this blog has been a nice mix of heavy issues and mindless chit-chat.

I’m really enjoying it.



numb says:

” the heather & c.a. show “



JJJJ says:

Jesus said, “Lunch = Fish, Bread, Wine.”



Peter Deane says:

Boy, I never looked at it that way…

Notice also that it is “we” when God talks… must be more then one.

Now also the serpent says ‘God’ so the serpent was lying too,

unless, of course, the serpent only thought there was one God!

Maybe God was just playing us like, say, what we do to our kids to keep them out of places we don’t want them to go… we scare the shit out of them.

Is that a lie or just trying to keep the kid safe?

And I always thought that we do live forever…

Wow, that really sucks that they got the boot before making it to that tree!



You know, I’ve studied this stuff quite a bit, and I’ve never been able to figure out the “we” part. It certainly lends credence to the Christian “trinity god” concept, but the writing of Genesis pre-dates Christianity by about half a century, and Judaism never even entertained the idea because the Jews are strictly monistic.

As for making it to the tree; tell me about it! I hope we live forever, but I kind of doubt it. I think it’s wishful thinking.

It’s great to be here, though.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
