CityBeat’s Living Out Loud – Cincinnati Blog











{September 8, 2006}   Please Identify the Real Pit-bull

(Editor’s note: I wrote this in December of 2001 – I think for CityBeat but I’m not sure. It never got used, so I’m posting it here. I think it’s just another reminder of the terrible things we do to animals.)

On December 15 a dog, which was part pit-bull, was tied to a pole outside Keller’s IGA in Clifton and abandoned by its owners. Jennifer Goosnan, who works nearby and who knew the mutt, because the owners live in her building, witnessed the dog catcher from the Hamilton County SPCA attempting to load the dog in the truck.

Realizing what was happening; Ms. Goosnan pleaded with the dogcatcher to release the animal to her – that she would find a home for it. The dogcatcher would have no part of that.

“It’s not your dog – don’t worry about it” he stated while getting in his truck, dog in back, and driving away – leaving Ms. Goosnan in tears.

Quick action by Ms. Goosnan resulted in a happy ending last week. She now has custody of the dog and is trying to find a permanent home for it. Let’s hope it’s not those people who live in her building or the surly dogcatcher.

Larry Gross

Jim Stanton says:

I still remember your All Dogs go to Heaven story a few weeks back in the paper. Yes, here again is another example as to how we treat our animal friends. Thank god for that girl who took the dog in.



Kelly says:

Do you know what finally happened to the dog?



Geri says:

Yes. Sad what we do to our animal friends. I think if a person wants to get a pet, they really need to think about it first. In this disposal society that we live in, many think if it doesn’t work out, you can throw it away



jill-o says:

poor thing. i hate people sometimes.



John says:

I agree with what Geri has to say. Our “throw-away” society has now spread to my pets.



Larry Gross says:

Kelly –

I talked to Jennifer for a while after this happened. As far as I know, she found a good home for the dog. A happy ending.



S.A. says:

People are horrible aren’t they? No regard for life at all. But not all people. That girl you wrote about is decent and good hearted.



Josh says:

Pittbulls are not legal in this city. I’m surprised the thing wasn’t destroyed at the pound.



The Old Man says:

I know animals are not treated fairly but it’s not any worst that it was several years ago.

I grew up in a rural area and dogs being dropped was very common. I remember my father shooting dogs that came to our farm that were half straving. In a way that the best thing to do – to put that dog out of his hurt. We didn’t have a lot of money and feeling the dogs just wasn’t possible. They were animals afterall and not human. I never held this against my father. OUR DOGS were treated well and I think that’s why others would drop their dogs on our farm but they wern’t are dogs. We took care of our own.

I have this memory of a dog dropped on our farm. I was a small boy, I remember this poor dog eating banana peels out of our trash. It was really, really sad. My father shot it, then buried the dog. I remember the gun shot like it was yesterday.

I love dogs and I love animals but sometimes putting them down is the only thing that can be done or at least in the old days.



Karen says:

I see a point to some of what the “old man” is saying. I’ve never lived on a farm but I’m sure the way of life is different there. As far as us “city folk” really think about the long term stuff if you decide to get a dog.



Joe says:

The old man is pretty cool and makes you think.



Katie says:

Pit-bulls are not allowed in this city. They are mean and have killed people. The dog should have been destroyed. End of story.



StephE says:

I think that is a great ending to the story!
Furthermore, the guy from the SPCA was doing his job well, granted he could have been more polite. If I were picking up a dog, especially a pit-bull, any stranger claiming the dog is theirs or that they will find a home for it would seem suspiscious to me. Perhaps I watch too much Animal Cops but I would never simply hand over a stray once the catch has been made. Make the person come out to the shelter to prove that they were not simply taking advantage of an easy situation, especially when pit-bulls are not allowed in the city and they are the poor creatures used most often in dog fighting rings.



Heather says:

Old Man: When I was 8, my dad dropped my dog off on a farm while I was at school. We were moving and the place we were moving to only allowed one dog. He had a $300 German Shepherd, and I had an ugly little mutt from the pound. He was my best friend in the whole world.

The almost happy ending is that my dog found his way back home to me a week later.

I really thought thought that would move even my dad. Like a Disney movie. But it didn’t. He did at least find someone to take my dog. I’m glad for that, because I would be sitting here wondering if Fanzi got shot on some farm. That never even occurred to me.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
