CityBeat’s Living Out Loud – Cincinnati Blog











{September 25, 2006}   When Is it Right to Rebel?

iranian_troops1.jpggreg.jpgI’m a student of the Holocaust, about which there are many myths. Perhaps the most common and the most pernicious is the myth that, if we were around when people were rounding up Jews for murder — or Muslims or African Americans or illegal immigrants — we would do something about it.

Standing up to the state when it commits a crime is a fearsome endeavor. We don’t want to go to jail, lose our jobs, suffer loss of face.

Yet our society honors the civil disobedience that shaped our moral identity: the Boston Tea Party, the Underground Railroad, the Suffragettes.

Is there a time when you would break the law to stop a crime by the state? What kind of crime would it be?

For me and a small group of others, the time is 1 p.m. Wednesday, Sept. 27, when we begin a sit-in at the office of U.S. Rep. Steve Chabot. Our one demand is that he sign the Congressional Declaration of Peace, which would require the withdrawal of U.S. forces from Iraq by March 20, 2007, the fourth anniversary of the war.

The U.S. invasion of Iraq was a crime, and we must end the killing that we started four years ago.

If you would like to support our effort, go to Chabot’s office at the Carew Tower at 1 p.m. Wednesday. Other peace supporters will be gathering in front of the building. You don’t have to break the law. Just stand in support of the peace movement. Together we can stop this war.

Gregory Flannery

Jean says:

An invitation to join you at the Carew Tower on Wednesday afternoon so I can lose my job? Pass.



Jack says:

Chabot probably won’t even be there. I think you are wasting your time.



Chuck says:

I can’t get arrested but I can show my support. I’ll be there Wednesday at one o’clock.



Will says:

That is a noble effort on Mr. Flannery’s part. I just love the comments thus far. Typical excuses, typical Cincinnati.



Dana says:

If I can get downtown on Wednesday and that is a very big if, I will come down to the Carew Tower to at least support this effort. So few of us are willing to go that extra mile about this stupid war and I admire Mr. Flannery for taking a stand. I would urge all those who work or live downtown to show a little support on Wednesday.



Matt says:

Gregory Flannery is the writer of the Porkopolis column and the editor on the Porkopolis blog. My Question: Why is he coming HERE to announce his arrest on Wednesday instead of his own column or blog?



Jean says:

So Will, are YOU going to get arrested on Wednesday too or will you be like the “typical” rest of us?



Karen says:

Matt

I don’t think many people read the other Citybeat blogs. Gregory probably wanted to find an audience for what he wanted to say.



hard as nails says:

i’ll be down there, gregory, helping you out!



Matt says:

Speaking of those other blogs, the arts and music one has taken off the coming soon stuff. Of course they do this after Midpoint is over when readers thought the thing wasn’t even up. A day late and a dollar short.

Beaver Head, where you been on this?



Geri says:

Please more music videos and less of this stuff.



Greg,

You are 100% right. If the Bush administration started rounding up American Muslims today, Americans would stand by and do nothing. They would say “stop talking about this depressing stuff and entertain us already!”

Someday, if we survive, human beings will evolve beyond a herd mentality, but until that time comes great civilizations will continue to rise and fall. I believe we will eventually get our act together, but not today.

I’ve been in the hospital all weekend, so maybe I’m just a little pessimistic right now. I’m tired of caring about people who don’t care about themselves. If nothing else, we should care about the thousands of innocent people being killed around the world in the name of “freedom” and “democracy.”

Let me know if there is any group with which I can participate here in San Diego. I have to go lay down.



Kelly says:

Maybe Jean is too busy being Jean, but I’ll be there Wednesday afternoon. I’ve had enough of this fucking war.



Pat says:

I know Gregory’s intentions are good, but what is getting arrested going to change? Nothing. We still have two more years of Bush and with him in office, the war is not going to be stopped. You might as well save your legal fees.



Teri says:

Maybe I can understand some of what Pat is saying, but she has to remember that midterm elections are coming in November. According to the polls, most of us has caught on to the Bush lies about the war and we want change. Yes, we are stuck with Bush for two more years but for those in Washington who supported this horrible president, they need to start thinking about their asses. Come November, the dems will be taking control and while maybe that’s not all good news, anything is better than what we got now – and that includes Chabot.



Man of the Hour says:

You know me Greg but I’m not gonna use my real name on a blog unlike some other fools.

Go man go. I’ll be there with you on Wednesday. You walk the talk by man.



Karen @ the hood says:

Gregory

I don’t see how you can sleep at night knowing your going to jail on Wednesday.

You are kind of a hero. I meant you once when you were walking through Over the Rhine after that kid Thomas was killed and shortly after the riots. You really do walk the talk.

After Wednesday, I hope there will be some updates here to let us know what happens.



Gregory Flannery says:

Karen, you caught Larry napping. He knows the only H word that applies to me is “heavy.” But thank you for inviting me to post an update. We’re hoping people who support peace will come to the Vine Street entrance to the Carew Tower (between Fourth and Fifth streets) at about 1 p.m. Even a few minutes of support for a good cause can reap rewards.



Larry Gross says:

If you end up in jail, I’ll send you cigarettes.



Matt says:

Gregory Flannery talks about the sit-in in a Porkopolis blog this morning so I’ll ease up on him a bit. You got to respect a guy who stands up for what he believes in.



Dana says:

Turns out I can take some time off work so I’ll be there! Will other people at City Beat be joining you? Just curious.



numb says:

i’ll wait for the movie.



John says:

How will we know where to find all of you? Will you be outside the building?



Laura says:

I wish Mr. Flannery and the rest of the Citybeat staff well tomorrow downtown. This is a paper that stands up for what they believe in and this war is wrong.



Man of the Hour says:

Hey Laura
Give credit to where credit is due. Greg Flannery is a differnt kind of guy who stands up for what he believes him. I’m sure most others who work for City Beat won’t even be at Carew Tower tomorrow. They will be at work, playing it safe behind their desks!



Gregory Flannery says:

Just so it’s clear, the people participating in the sit-in aren’t CityBeat employees. One is a minister, one is a high school student, one is a filmmaker, and one is a 78-year-old nun.
As for where we’ll be, the sit-in is in Congressman Chabot’s office in the Carew Tower. People who want to support our effort, but not get arrested, will be in front of the Carew Tower’s Vine Street entrance.



Karen says:

Why aren’t other CityBeat employees getting involved?



Fred says:

Just so it’s clear, the people participating in the sit-in aren’t CityBeat employees. One is a minister, one is a high school student, one is a filmmaker, and one is a 78-year-old nun.

Huh?

You never said this here before. I thought employees of CityBeat put this together.



Gregory Flannery says:

I’m sorry for any confusion. But if you read what I originally posted, the word “CityBeat” never appears. This small group is affiliated with the Declaration of Peace and the Intercommunity Justice and Peace Center. I just happen to work at CityBeat.



Karen says:

No, you’re right. The post doesn’t say anything about CityBeat. Since you’re the editor, I just assumed it was sort of a CityBeat event.



Larry Gross says:

No, not a CityBeat event. It’s much bigger than that. Sit-ins will be happening all across the country tomorrow. Go back and read Greg’s post.

And after going downtown tomorrow to show support and or to get arrested and or to shake Greg’s hand, come on down to Hobo Books over in Northside where I’ll be signing books and reading from the Living Out Loud column (PLUG!). We start at six o’clock.



Jeff- or-ly says:

Larry

I’m surprised you’re not being arrested with your buddy Greg! Ha!



Gregory Flannery says:

CNN is reporting 71 arrests of anti-war protesters today at the U.S. Capitol.



Jean says:

What good to you think it will do you and others to get arrested? Why not a peaceful march?

And I have to be downtown tomorrow. Traffic will probably be all tied up.



hard as nails says:

call everything off, gregory, jean’s going to be downtown tomorrow. we can’t have heavy traffic. jean’s coming.



Karen @ the hood says:

Jean is a trip!! Why does she even read this blog? The enquirer seems more up her alley.

Good luck tomorrow, Gregoary. I hope to see you there.



Many says:

Jean: Conservative, selfish sooooooooooo Cincinnati. Really, I don’t know why she visits here.



Who says:

I’m just a reader, don’t want to comment or anything, but I need to know who is the girl on this website to the right everytime I come here? I think maybe that’s why I keep coming here. Heather, is it you?



Jeff- or-ly says:

It’s a graphic, dude. Jack yourself off.



Gregory Flannery says:

Jean, there was a march Monday to deliver petitions asking Congressman Chabot to sign the Congressional Declaration of Peace. We hope he does. Our goal is not to get arrested; our goal is to get Chabot to help end the war.



Karen says:

Any word on our boy greg?



Heather says:

Who: Yeah, that’s me. I posed for Larry, and he painted it. He was generous and painted my figure more as it looked before the triplets, but it’s a good likeness overall.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
