CityBeat’s Living Out Loud – Cincinnati Blog











{October 12, 2006}   Battle Scars

battle-scars.jpg“This one is from when I was six. My dad took a baseball bat to my head,” he said, opening his mouth and pointing to a gap between his top right bicuspid and molar.

“Ouch. This one is from when I was eight and fell in the woods,” she said, pointing to a long scar on her thigh.

“Doesn’t look so bad,” he snorted.

“No, no. That’s just the gash where I got the stitches. My dad screamed at me in front of the whole block for going into the woods and getting hurt. When one of the neighbor ladies took up for me, he started screaming at her. When we got to the emergency room, he put his arm around me and smiled and told the nurse, ‘Kids will be kids. I’m just glad she’s okay.'”

He squinted and cocked his head, and leaned in a little closer. “Oh yeah, I see it now, that’s an ugly one.” He reached down and rubbed a jagged scar on his ankle. “This is from when I was ten. My friend sicked his dog on me because I was stealing his bike.”

“Was it a nice bike?” she asked, trying to get a picture of the event in her head.

“No,” he laughed, “that mother-fucker was poorer than me, but my parents never bought me a goddamn bike.” He pulled his hand away from his ankle and turned toward her, waiting for her to reciprocate.

“This one is from my Grandma,” she beamed, “I told her I had a hard time making friends because I was shy, and I was at a new school all the time. After that, whenever she was mad at me, she would say, ‘That’s why nobody likes you.'”

“That’s a good one,” he laughed. “This one is from my mom’s drunk boyfriend with a broken beer bottle when I was fifteen. That’s when my mom kicked me out for good.”

“This one is from my babysitter. He was fifteen and I was five.”

“That one doesn’t look like it healed up right,” he observed. “You probably should have had that one looked at, you know?”

“Yeah, well… you know.”

“Yeah.”

“What are those, right there?” she asked, reaching her hand out to touch his chest. He instinctively pulled just out of her reach. He covered his wounds with one hand and reached for his shirt with the other. He fumbled with his shirt for a moment, but made no attempt to put it on.

“Those are all of the birthdays in juvie when my parents didn’t come see me or call.”

“Oh,” she said, withdrawing her hand. “How many?”

“All of them,” he said with a chuckle. He leaned in to kiss her and she instinctively pulled just out of his reach.

“Would you like a Coke?” she asked as she stood up.

He dropped his shirt as he reached over and grabbed her arm, pulling her down on top of him. He tangled his hands in her hair and pulled her head down and kissed her lips.

She moved down slowly, kissing his chin, and his neck, and his shoulder. Finally she began to kiss his chest, one kiss at a time. One for each birthday.

Heather Annastasia Siladi

Pat says:

What is this – “scars week?”



Karen says:

A tender and touching story. Scars. We all got them.



Karen @ the hood says:

Nice. 🙂



Barbara says:

This shouldn’t be a blog posting, it should be a novel! I love this! Two people somehow thrown together with both physical and emotional scars. They always go hand in hand don’t there?

I’m left wanting to know more. Really, it needs to be longer. It’s so good.



C.A. MacConnell says:

Cool the way you captured “the visible scar discussion” that often does come right before the first kiss. Gives a free rein excuse to touch something, breaking the ice sculpture.



Actually, it’s quite a bit longer, but it’s a series of short stories. And it’s mostly about the daughter who is conceived in this story.



C.A. MacConnell says:

PS, nice picture, larry…lord, now that’s something to make your mouth drop in the morning.



Yeah, what’s up with the picture?



Marilyn says:

Heather, thanks for sharing… It’s one of those things I read and it touches me so deeply that all I can think is: I wish I wrote that!



Thank you guys for the compliments. They really mean a lot to me. When I get home today, I’ll put the whole story up on my site and put a link here, for anyone who’s interested.



Marilyn says:

Heather, I’ll check in for the link….

Larry, I have to comment on that picture too, where the hell did that come from?



Terry says:

The painting with the post is one of my favorites. It’s called scars also.



Jim Stanton says:

Heather,

I agree with Barbara. This is a wonderful story. Maybe turn it into a long short story or even a nove. You’re on to something here.



Polly says:

it’s nice. someone answer me please. why can’t this happen in real life?



Karen says:

Heather, how do I get to your link?



numb says:

scars

mars

cars

tires

a poem for you and gross. you are so welcome.



Heather says:

numb: thank you

Karen: I’m stuck at work and I can’t access my site administration from the office (they put blocks on our browsers). I’ll put the story on my site and post a link here in a few hours.



Larry Gross says:

I’ve had a rough day, so forgive me if I’m a little cranky.

I won’t say much about the picture that went along with the post except that I liked it and I’m the editor here. If you don’t like the picture, pretty simple really, don’t look at it.



Marilyn says:

Naw, Larry, I liked it too… I’ve just never seen it before.



Heather says:

Terry: Oh! Well that’s appropriate. Who’s the artist?

Polly: It doesn’t go so well for these two characters, and things get a loss worse before they get better. I think real life is that way.



Marilyn says:

Heather, yes indeed, real life is like that. I’ve learned (the hard way) never to say, “It can’t get much worse.” Oh yes, indeedy, it sure can and likely will…



Jackie says:

numb,

You’re lonely aren’t you?



Karen says:

Larry? Cranky? NEVER!! Just messin’ with ya. You know I love you.



Karen @ the hood says:

Will you be putting the longer version of your story here too?



Heather says:

Okay, I just slapped the story onto my web site. The format is all wrong because I copied and pasted, but I don’t have time to fix it right now because it’s a long story (well, four stories). Sorry about that.

Hope you guys like it.

http://heatherannastasia.com/consolation.html



Karen says:

I’ll read tomorrow. Thanks for sharing this with us.



Heather says:

The format looks a little better if you go to my site because it’s in a frame.

http://heatherannastasia.com

go to “published work” and scroll down to “blog posts/ self-published”



Karen @ the hood says:

I can’t get it to work, going to your link but it is probably my computer. It is almost totally held together with duck tape.



Jeff- or-ly says:

Must be a women thing. I don’t get it.



Marilyn says:

Heather, the weekend over, I finally got to your website and read Scars in its entirety.

Very gritty, very hard to read, but very engaging. I enjoyed reading this alot. Thanks for the link.



Heather says:

Thanks! I’m so glad you enjoyed it. (hell, I’m excited that you finished it!)



Leave a Reply

et cetera
