CityBeat’s Living Out Loud – Cincinnati Blog











{October 19, 2006}   Sylvester, Tweety & Stock

sylvester.jpgI got this e-mail from Sylvester this morning.

Hi Charles,
I was pleased to meet you the other day. I expect you are truly had like the New York.
So much so much happening all the time, lots of great opportunities.
And speaking of opportunities, the deal I was speaking you about yesterday embraces a company
known as Tex-Homa (TAHE).
It’s already growing up, but the big information isn’t even
out yet, so there’s still time. I have got this shares already and made
2000. I recommend you to do the same today.

Hope this helps you out. I’ll see you this weekend.
Yours,
Sylvester

First of all, Sylvester, My name isn’t Charles and we didn’t meet. Second thing is I checked out your stock exchange lettering and it doesn’t exist. I don’t think I’ll be buying any shares. No, it didn’t help me out at all.

By the way, asshole, I don’t live in New York. I live in Cincinnati – not so much happening all the time.

You’ll be seeing me this weekend? I don’t think so. I got almost the exact same e-mail from your friend Tweety. I won’t be seeing that bird either.

Larry Gross

kathy says:

silly, but funny!



Josh says:

Not much to say today. Pretty weak.



Polly says:

I had to laugh because I got almost the exact same email. Some of the junk mail I get is pretty funny too, but a lot of it is sickening especially the sex stuff. They should be a law.



Babble On says:

Pretty funny! Do you answer all your junk mail?!



Jake says:

Pretty funny!!



C.A. MacConnell says:

Oh lord, my pure hatred of Spam runs deep. I could write a novel on it. Wait a minute, I already am. Let’s just say, I don’t need a bigger penis or misspelled medddicatons or BIG BLOWUP stocks that are going to RISE ON MONDAY. Bite me. There, I feel better.

Now, back to my morning session writing literary things and reading Faulkner.



Steve says:

CA –

Faulkner rules!!!



Richard says:

Great. I’m not coming here to read junk mail.



C.A. MacConnell says:

Actually, I lied. I am writing grade school level emails and reading the nutrition facts on the back of a pack of Orbit gum. But I do like Faulkner’s “Intruder in the Dust.”



I’m going to have to agree with Richard. Larry, you’re one of the only people I know who READS junk mail. The fact that you read it is odd enough, but I can’t figure out why you post it.

I realize that few people here give a rat’s ass about what’s going on in the world, so I’ll just drop this tidbit of info and be on my way. I hate to trouble you guys, but I’m convinced SOMEONE here will be interested.

Congress passed, and now Bush has signed into law, the “Military Commissions Act,” which literally gives Bush, or anyone he appoints, the ability to capture, detain, and torture, ANYONE, including American citizens, WITHOUT charging them with a crime or allowing them ANY legal representation.

Congratulations, people. 200 years of Constitutional rights have now been destroyed. There is a chance, slimmer now with Bush’s handpicked Supreme Court Appointees, that this bill will be overturned by the Supreme Court. But with the complete lack of outrage on the part of the American people, they’re pretty sure no one is watching. And I’m sure that, just like in Germany sixty years ago, people will continue to look the other way when their neighbors begin to disappear.



Marilyn says:

This reminds me (and I’m assuming this was an e-mail you received Larry), that I’m constantly impressed with my ISP. I never get unsolicited e-mails, never. I pay $10.50 a month and must have the best spam blocker in the country, if not the world!

CA, your morning of composing grade school level e-mails and reading the nutritional facts on gum pretty much reflects my own morning.

It’s gloomy and I’m now searching for something more entertaining to do.

Heather, I’ve been watching news for weeks now. (I go through spells and, of course, with the electons drawing near, it gives me added motivation.) It’s really depressing what the current administration endorses. I think the most damaging platform is their “religious” crapola. Blackwell, you suck and I ESPECIALLY won’t vote for you because your god sucks just as you do…

So, while they are self-endorsed champions of God (a God I totally disagree with), they kill and torture and maim too many in the name of their god.

I could go on, but I’m giving myself a headache…. I need more coffee.



Heather says:

I apologize if this doesn’t work. My workplace puts up all kinds of internet blocks, so I can’t check this link, but I’m pretty sure it’s right.



Paul says:

Don’t get on Larry too much. I thought this was actually pretty funny and sometimes I’ll read my junk mail too to see what shit I’m being sent.



Kristina says:

Heather,

I don’t usually make comments but I am today.

I thought Larry’s post was funny. I’m sure he doesn’t read all his junk e-mail but probably found a funny one he could do something with here. Again, I laughed at it and others here have too.

It seems like when you see a post that you don’t like, especially with Larry, you pull it apart and try to take the discussion somewhere else. You want to take over. I don’t know why Larry lets you do it, but I find it very annoying.

I would like to suggest that if you want to be an editor on a blog that you start your own and let some of us enjoy the odd ball humor when it appears here.



Jen says:

I’ve always loved Tweety. I turned the picture you had up with the post into my wallpaper on my computer. Thanks!



numb says:

“I don’t know why Larry lets you do it,”

larry: the controller



Heather says:

Kristina,

I can’t rememer ever telling Larry I didn’t one of his posts, and I certainly didn’t say that here. And I think it goes without saying that Larry doesn’t read ALL his junk mail, I was teasing him.

As far as Larry allowing me to post something unrelated, I really don’t he’s so in love with this thread that he cares if the subject strays.

“Let’s stay on topic here, people, we’re talking about my junk email!”

As Larry said just the other day, “this is just a blog.”



Marilyn says:

Heather, I tried to play the youtube bit you posted, but my pc stinks… It was probably funny.



Heather says:

I’m not sure, I can’t make it work while I’m at work!

🙂



Roberta says:

For what its worth, I thought Larry’s post was funny too.



Matt says:

I thought the post was cool and Heather always tries to make it more interesting. It IS just a blog and if things turn to another direction I think Mr. Editor man – Larry- is cool with it.



Tim Graves says:

Just a really stupid post. Not up to your standards.



Marilyn says:

Awww guys, like Cincinnati weather, if you don’t like it today, it’ll surely be different tomorrow.

And, for those of you with “writerly” inclinations, write something up and e-mail it to Larry as a blog entry to make this a truly diverse place to visit.

Ya know?



Leave a Reply

et cetera
