CityBeat’s Living Out Loud – Cincinnati Blog











{November 17, 2006}   Coffee

coffee.JPGLet’s call it a grand experiment that didn’t work. Yesterday morning, I went back to drinking coffee.

Like other drugs, it’s not good for you. If I drink too much of it, it causes my heart to race and I get all anxious. Last week, I decided to stop drinking it.

Decaf sucks and every morning I went to work with a headache. I felt out of it all day long. Yesterday morning, I said fuck it. I live here in Clifton and walked down to the UDF which is always open and returned to my nasty habit.

I don’t smoke, don’t do other drugs. Maybe if drinking coffee everyday is the worst thing I do, maybe I can live with it. Hell, I just will.

Teri Archer

Bonnie says:

If drinking coffee is the worst thing you do to your body, you’re not doing too bad.



Matt says:

Teri,
I know you don’t smoke but coffee and cigarettes in the morning go hand in hand. I don’t ever intend to give them up.



Judy says:

I can’t imagine not having coffee in the morning. Maybe it is a drug but it’s a staple in my life that ain’t going anywhere. All I can say is Teri, have another cup.



Babble On says:

A day without coffee is a day without life. Something’s got to get me going in the mornings and coffee’s it. It’s even better than the Dew.



Dela says:

No coffee in the morning? Kill me now.



Shawn says:

We all have our morning addictions – the drug that’s gonna get us going. I don’t drink coffee, can’t stand the stuff but I must have my Mountain Dew. I won’t be giving it up anytime soon.



Heather says:

Coffee is healthy. It lowers your risk of diabetes, Parkinson’s, colon cancer and cavities. It also helps headaches and helps open up swollen airways (my step-dad is respiratory therapist).

Like anything else, it can be bad in excess.

For people who are caffeine sensitive, who get anxious on one cup of coffee, coffee may be bad.

Maybe you should try drinking half a cup of coffee. Maybe you could get some of benefits without getting the shakes.



Eric says:

If nothing else, Coffee is great for hangovers……which I had this morning.



Jacob says:

Maybe it’s a drug but at least it is a legal one and one I enjoy.



Larry Gross says:

My regular morning procedure

A. Get out of bed.

B. Turn on the coffee machine which was filled up with coffee and water the previous evening.

C. Go to my desk and smoke a cigarette.

D. Feed the cat.

E. Get my cup and pour myself some coffee.

F. Go back to my desk, light another cigarette, start drinking my coffee and check my email.

My coffee limit: two cups.



hard as nails says:

coffee, smokes, diet pepsi = my morning diet.



Daniel Steele says:

Coffee is the giver of life!



Justin says:

I guess call me the strange one but i have never had coffee in my life and really don’t need anything to get me going in the morning. Maybe a little orange juice but that’s all.



Donny says:

I like “normal” coffee like Forgers or Maxuwell House and I’ll never give that up but one thing I have never started is that Starbucks stuff. I can’t see myself paying three bucks for a damn cup of coffee. Something about that just isn’t right.



not to be negative says:

Let’s see……………you don’t smoke……………your sensitive to your pms issues……………….you complain about laundry…………..now issues with coffee.

Let’s don’t ever meet. I think your posts are dull and a drag.



numb says:

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz



Many says:

t h a n k g o d f o r c o f f e e



Brian says:

I think about it this way – everything in my bloodstream is a chemical, my brain is floating in a soup of naturally produced antioxidants, dopamine and depressants and magnocellular whatevers. So what’s wrong with adding some caffeine to that stew to stir me up in the morning?
Long as I’m not tapping a vein and shooting it straight up, I’m okay with a jones for coffee.



Brian says:

I think about it this way – everything in my bloodstream is a chemical, my brain is floating in a soup of naturally produced antioxidants, dopamine and depressants and magnocellular whatevers. So what’s wrong with adding some caffeine to that stew to stir me up in the morning?
I figure as long as I’m not tapping a vein and shooting it straight up, I’m cool enough with a coffee jones.



C.A. MacConnell says:

I’m not telling



Marilyn says:

Coffee is the nectar of the gods, as far as I’m concerned!

My mother came and rescued me from my home this morning and we went to Eastgate and I got a radical new hairstyle. While I was in there, I could smell a new pot of coffee brewing in the back. I was jonesing even though I’d had a cup before leaving the house.

After I chatted my stylist’s ear off (and got a great “do” by the way), I begged my mom to take me to Perkins — one of the last places in Eastgate where one can get a smoking booth. The coffee, ciggie, and belgium waffle went perfectly after a great morning!

Teri, I’ve gone thru phases where coffee can make me jittery. When this happens, I brew up half high-test and half decaf. It’s not bad.



Kevin says:

Nope, half & half don’t work for me. Its all or nothing.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
