CityBeat’s Living Out Loud – Cincinnati Blog











{November 21, 2006}   Giving Thanks

turkeydinner1.gifWalking to work this morning, I passed the Free Store and noticed the long line of people looking for a little help. It took me back to last year when me and my sister were in that same line waiting to get a little something for our Thanksgiving Day dinner. It made me feel bad. It made me feel like I was a poor black girl looking for a handout.

Things are different from last year. I was out of a job and so was my sister. She’s still looking but I’ve been waiting on tables for the past ten months and now making a little money – so I went over to Kroger’s on Vine and got me a turkey last week. Paid for it myself this year – no handouts for me!

I feel proud when I look in my freezer and see that frozen bird.

It’s the little things like that that make me thankful this year.

Happy Thanksgiving to everybody.

Karen @ The Hood

Nancy says:

You’re a good kid, Karen. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your sister.



Jim Stanton says:

Karen,

You always bring real life to this blog everytime you post. I want you to know I always enjoy reading you.

Happy Thanksgiving.



Biscuit says:

You better take that frozen bird out of the freezer if you want to cook it up on Thursday.

That was a very nice post. I remember when I got back on my feet and could say “I bought that with money I made” It’s an empowering feeling

It’s always a good day to give thanks.



Matt says:

God bless Karen.



Babble On says:

I think somewhere on Thursday I’ll be thinking of your post and thinking of you and feeling thankful that you now have an outlet for your voice. Keep writing and god bless you, Karen.



Karen says:

Hey Larry!

Just read your 810 Main Street LOL. Is Elgin open on Friday? I’m gonna try to stop by. Sounds like a super cool place to work 🙂



Heather says:

I’m glad the free store was there for you last year because you deserved a Thanksgiving dinner.

And I’m so glad you have a bird to be proud of this year.

Everyody here loves you. Maybe even numb. 🙂

Happy Thanksgiving



Marilyn says:

What can I add? Everyone else said it so well.

I’ve been on the receiving end of charity as well. I’m a firm believer in thinking that everything -EVERYTHING- we do and go through happens for a reason.

Karen, you are special and I wish you and your family a wonderful holiday season.



Jackie says:

With a person like Karen, you just want to throw your arms around her and never let go.



Carla says:

Karen means special 🙂



Laura says:

Happy, happy, HAPPY Thansgiving to Karen @ the hood! I always enjoy your writing.



Rick says:

I was down on my luck, had very little money a few years ago so I can relate to what Karen is saying. You feel proud when you start paying or doing something for yourself. Way to go Karen!



Sally says:

I always like reading what Karen has to say because her words are so clear and simple and to the point with no. b.s. I wish she would write more.



Bitch from Price Hill says:

Girl, get that bird out of the frig! Thanksgiving is Thursday!



Bitch from Price Hill says:

………..by the way, nice post.



Polly says:

Happy Thanksgving to all you LOL Blog readers!



C.A. MacConnell says:

I always enjoy Karen’s writings too. Thanks for sharing your story. I am afraid to cook. But I will eat my mom’s din din. And I am grateful, that’s for sure. This time last year, I was struggling bigtime, and in no shape to join a get together. One year later, and I am looking forward to it, feeling better. Sometimes, I’m just grateful to wake up to a simple reality.



numb says:

whatever.



Brian says:

It’s always good to hear from you and read your words, Karen. I feel your pride too and I know where it comes from, that ultrawarm spot inside you because you truly earned all that you have for this holiday.

I used to live on Walnut, across from the old Grammer’s restaurant and I remember how it felt to have to ask for help. It humbled me then and still does, to think back to where I was a few years ago. And that makes me extra thankful for where I am now – thanks for keeping it real here for us and enjoy the hell out of your bird on Thursday.



Karen @ the hood says:

Thanks to everyone for all the nice words. I kind of eat that up you know.

And numb, a special happy Thanksgiving to me.



Heather says:

Every time numb says “whatever,” he’s really saying “I love you.”

awww…

We love you too buddy! Come on, give us hug…



Marilyn says:

A big psychic group hug to Karen and heck, we’ll even include numb.



bmun says:

Karen will be calling the Butterball Hot-line.



Marilyn says:

Lord. I roasted my first turkey in 1974. I didn’t know you had to take out the giblets! Karen, reach up into that butt cavity!

Good news though… I’ve since learned to cook very, very well. (Too well, I’m afraid!)



Leave a Reply

et cetera
