CityBeat’s Living Out Loud – Cincinnati Blog











{November 24, 2006}   Yesterday

solitude-_2.jpgYesterday is a little bit difficult for me to explain. I had plenty of Thanksgiving “invites,” plenty of places I could have gone for the holiday to fill my stomach up with turkey, dressing and a bunch of other stuff I shouldn’t eat (I’m a diabetic don’t you know), but I didn’t go anywhere. My big plan for the holiday, the one I was looking forward to, was simple to stay home.

In thinking back to last Thanksgiving, after having dinner with my son, I started that novel that I took notes on all spring and summer. Yesterday, I worked on it some more. A year later, “The Hurricane Café,” is still very much a work-in-progress but I’m pleased with what I’ve done so far and still like most of the words I’ve written. I’m giving myself three years to get this thing done and I’m ahead of schedule.

This year’s Thanksgiving dinner consisted of a salad with some crab meat tossed on top. I had a turkey sandwich for lunch on Wednesday.

After my salad, I took a walk down Ludlow Avenue. Keller’s was open and I went in and picked up some cat food and a can of peas. When I got my back home, I took a nap.

I worked on the novel some more in the afternoon, did a little reading and talked to my son after he got back home from his mother’s. That’s about all the talking I had to do yesterday and it felt just fine.

All this week, I’ve been out of sorts – people in my face wanting me to listen to what they have to say – whether it was listening to their problems, their ideas, their questions, or just talk. Yesterday, I didn’t want to talk. Yesterday was my day of solitude – a little Thanksgiving Day gift to myself.

It was a damn fine day.

Larry Gross

George says:

I’m with you on this. I had no plans for yesterday at all and felt fine about it. I don’t know why there is this pressure to have to be around others on Thanksgiving. Sometimes being alone is a treat.



Polly says:

I also can relate to what you’re saying. We’ll now in the season where we’re suppose to be all social and that makes me not want to me.



Mary says:

I don’t understand. Thanksgiving is a time to be around family and friends – not to be all by yourself.



Robert says:

There is no right or wrong here. Thanksgiving is whatever you want it to be.



C.A. MacConnell says:

I do the “divorced family holidays,” which means, a lot of time in the car. I hear ya…not that I don’t love my fam, but I would’ve enjoyed your day, minus the peas. I too like my solitude, more than most understand. Right on.



Paula says:

Yesterday started the most depressing period of the year: the holidays. To me, it always seems forced on me. Maybe I need to be more like you and not have it put down my throat.



hard as nails says:

holidays? I don’t pay any attention to them.



Patty says:

What a much of grumps here. I love the holidays and it’s a pleasure to be around my family during that time.



Matt says:

Family is like dead fish. They start to smell after a couple days.



jake says:

i can’t stand the holidays either – especially Christmas and Christmas music. It all sucks.



jackula says:

what a complaining bunch of assholes.



Jackie says:

I say to each his won. Everybody is different and I had a great time with my family yesterday and yes, I’m looking forward to Christmas.



numb says:

larry enjoys his solitude because he doesn’t have any friends.



Sarah says:

I don’t know if the holidays that depresses me so much. I think the winter is what causes me to be down and in turn don’t enjoy the holidays all that much. I see California in my future.



Del says:

I don’t mind the holidays so much but I think it’s good to mix it up a little sometimes. Like for Thanksgiving this year, we did breakfast instead of dinner. Turkey sausage, eggs, fried pototoes, all good and something a little different.



Biscuit says:

I always wondered why people complained about having to spend time with their families over the holidays. If you don’t like your family don’t spend time with them.

Let’s resolve to not be victims this holiday season.

Personally I love hanging with my family and when it gets to be too much, I leave.



Heather says:

Thanksgiving is one of the few days I enjoy cooking. I guess it’s because every other day, cooking is one chore on my long list of things to do, and there’re never enough hours in the day.

But on Thanksgiving, I have all day. Yesterday we played board games with the kids while the turkey roasted, my husband did the dishes, we went for a walk in this beautiful San Diego weather, and then we ate pie and watched a horror movie.

It was like the whole day revolved leisurely around dinner.

But no more leisure for me. I’m going to have to stop visiting here so often and get serious about my writing. I’ll check you guys out ever now and again, of course.

Happy Holidays to you and yours.



David Gallaher says:

One Thanksgiving Day back in the mid-70’s I was stumbling around Manhattan alone. Weather was disagreeable, but not as bad as it was there yesterday. Saw the Macy’s parade, but couldn’t stand patiently by for the whole enchilada even if the baloons’ noses were not scraping the street that day, as they were yesterday. Had the holy meal at the counter of the Wienerwald up near the theater district. Wienerwald was the chain out of Bavaria that was like KFC with beer and lower lighting. It seemed homey because of memories of Wienerwald in Munich in 1970 with the Little Woman, the year of the Passionspiele.



Marilyn says:

I was (it seems long ago) the consumate holiday junkie. I’d spend days cooking, baking, and preparing for T’giving and Christmas.

No longer. For my own very valid and quite reasonable purposes, I choose to make as little as the holidays as possible.

The one thing I look forward to is having my daughter over for a nice italian meal (just the two of us). We’ll then share a few well-selected, inexpensive gifts, light candles and a tiny tree and share some stories about Luke…



Karen says:

Marilyn,

I know you miss Luke. Sorry for your loss.



Marilyn says:

Karen, many thanks for the kind words.

The loss of Luke is the most intense and all consuming grief I’ve ever known (I hope it will be the worst of my life). But the incredible amount of baggage that has accompanied his loss is just incomprehensible to me.

Sadly, most of that baggage is unnecessary (and certainly Niki and I don’t deserve nor did we ask for any of it). But Niki and I will perservere despite it, and it is my constant mantra that we grow from this. This can’t be for absolutely nothing.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
