CityBeat’s Living Out Loud – Cincinnati Blog











{November 28, 2006}   I Remember

old-man.jpg

 

 

Give me some space, because I’m old and a little slow – but

 

I remember. . .

 

Life before paper towels.

 

When a bottle of Coke was a nickel.

 

 

 

Having a McDonald’s in downtown Cincinnati.

 

I remember. . .

 

When going to church was what you did on Sunday.

 

Getting married before having sex.

 

Bic pens that cost 19 cents.

 

I remember. . .

 

 

 

Feeling safe in Over-the-Rhine.

 

Life before disposable razors.

 

I remember. . .

 

When downtown Cincinnati had movie theatres.

 

The live television shows that aired here.

 

I remember. . .

 

The sidewalks being crowded downtown.

 

A river that was clean.

 

Newberry’s and their lunch counter.

 

I remember. . .

 

Cheap cigarettes.

 

When the Cincinnati Enquirer was a decent newspaper

 

The Bay Horse Café.

 

I remember. . .

 

Liking Kramer on Seinfeld.

 

The great rock shows at the Ludlow Garage.

Honest Cincinnati cops.

 

I remember. . .

 

The pride I took in living in Cincinnati.

The Old Man

Patrick says:

Going to the movies downtown is what I miss the most 😦



Rich says:

I think Cincinnati always looks better when you think back to the good old days. The city has changed a lot in recent years and not for the better.



Matt says:

Yep, Newberry’s lunch counter. I remember going with my parents. Those were the days.



Jean says:

So much space with so little to say.



David Gallaher says:

If we want to improve Sinincincinnati, we should admit the “leaders,” elected and otherwise, not only are not the solution; they are the problem. They need to stop doing what they are doing. First, stop providing police and sheriff “protection.” Stop owning property. Stop forcing private property owners to comply with their narrow, bureaucratic “vision.”



Jean says:

What planet is David from? His radical approach to this city would solve nothing.



Karen says:

Jean,
You make it quite clear that you don’t like what you read here. Question: Why the hell do you keep coming back?



Paul says:

I want to think that Cincinnati’s best days are ahead but with the losers we got running this city right now, it’s a little scary.



C.A. MacConnell says:

I’d like a Subway that doesn’t involve sandwiches. Like the BART in San Fran…connected to Oakland & surrounding areas…it’s so fun to ride around there and so easy to navigate, even for a person with a sense of direction spaceout problem. But, problem is, like the movie “Singles” claims, “People love their cars.”



Paula says:

This post made me a little sad today. I remember all the live television shows in this city too and it set us a part somehow.

I remember my mother and I going down to channel 5’s studio on Elm Street and seeing the Paul Dixon show live. It was so much fun. Of course, it was years ago and those days are now forever. Kind of sad.



David Gallaher says:

C. A. MacConnell,
People not only love their cars… they are addicted to them. And government spending on roads is no different than government buying us crack.
But you have hit on the long-term problem of cities. They are just very hard to reconfigure for cars, having evolved originally primarily for pedestrians.
That’s why it’s going to take a whole heap of SIN to get Sinincincinnati reconfigured. SIN is the only hope. Sigh. Wait! I mean whoopee!



Biscuit says:

I had forgotten about going to the movies downtown- Erasure Head, The Kid Are All Right and Monty Pythons Holy Grail. I can’t remember how many times I saw those movies. If you accidently kicked your Little Kings bottle over it would make an ungodly racket as it rolled down the concrete sloped floor.



C.A. MacConnell says:

I miss when Union Terminal still felt like a train station. When I was a kid, Dad would take my bro & me there. To me, the ceilings were so high, and it was so big from a kid’s perspective, it felt utterly magical. It always used to smell so sweet and warm, b/c of the fried dough cookin. mmm yum fattening. I really honestly don’t think I know anybody who doesn’t like trains.

And I miss the old Nat. History museum that had a cave and a glass bridge that was so high up and spooky. Anybody else remember that thing?



Nike says:

Like the “old man,” I miss the crowded sidewalks and some kind of decent night life. I should get out of here. Cincinnati sucks.



jackula says:

we always have the chili to be proud of, eh?



Tate says:

we always have the chili to be proud of, eh?

At least Skyline and Gold Star are some sort of fast food downtown. I miss Frisch’s and especially Wendy’s on Vine. I keep forgetting about Arby’s, because it it so god awful.



hard as nails says:

so the old man remembers life before paper towels. what is he, 150 years old?



Marilyn says:

I read this lyrical piece this morning and had to leave before I could respond. I liked reading this & pondered it much of the day.

ca, not only do I remember the old natural history museum, my class (class of ’73) got all of Bethel Tate schools barred for many years because they broke some stalagtites & mites out of that cave. The glass bridge was unsettling.

I’m so old, I remember radio before FM. Who else remembers WSAI? It was the only game in town — brought us the Beatles and Stones and all cool new stuff. Then finally ‘EBN came in (before it sold out) and was the coolest station to ever exist! Their late night shows still freak me out in my memory.



Larry Gross says:

Good old WSAI. I remembering listening to Jim Scott, back when he was cool. Now I don’t know what he is.

And yeah, WEBN. Robin Wood in the mornings was easy to take and every Monday night at ten, they would feature an entire new album. Really cool.

I guess we’ll both old Marilyn.



Karen @ the hood says:

I really like this post today. The old man remembers when life was safe and good in Over the Rhine. I wish I was with him back then.



Marilyn says:

Larry, yep we are old, man. But I’ll never give up!

Karen, in my lifetime the world has changed. I’m a baby boomer. We grew up to expect safty everywhere, that everyone would get a good-paying job and that life is guaran-damn-teed good. Yeah, we were spoiled. I kinda miss those days of ignorance. I feel bad for you and my daughter who never got that opportunity to believe…



Karen @ the hood says:

I guess it’s okay, Marilyn. I mean I try to count my blessings. I have a job – at last – and I have my sister and a roof over my head. I see so many that are homeless where I am. I want to think that God is being good to me.



Marilyn says:

Karen, I hear ya. I, too, try to be positive as much as possible (and sometimes, it’s damn near impossible). We cannot always choose what happens to us, but we CAN choose how we react. It took me 40 years to figure out that (I’m a tad slow).



Marilyn says:

Holy Crap Larry, I just had a flash from the past:

Remember we’d go to concerts at the coliseum for $6.50 festival seats? And then on the way home, ‘EBN would do the concert instant re-play… playing all the songs in the same order as the band had just performed?

Hmmm, I saw Zeppelin, Yes, Jethro Tull, Uriah Heep, Emerson, Lake & Palmer, Frank Zappa (but at Tangeman, not the Coliseum) and many others… I still have some of those ticket stubs.



Marilyn says:

… Now I’ll take my patchuoli stink and get outta here!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
