CityBeat’s Living Out Loud – Cincinnati Blog











{December 7, 2006}   Face Painting

face.jpgSometimes, I do odd volunteer work. This fall, I helped out at a health fair at the zoo. That day, my job involved face painting. I guess, since I’m a writer and artist, the powers that be assumed that I could draw. I can pull off something abstract, but as for balloons or hearts or cartoon spiders, I have to say, I was more than concerned. I cracked my knuckles, preparing.

Tons of kids showed up. Painting faces is harder than it looks. You must have the steadiest hand. I don’t have a steady hand. At times, I tremble.

One girl wanted a collage of hearts. Most kids wanted “Who-dey!” One boy wanted a caterpillar. His dad went, “Uh, get the spider instead.” I watched the boy’s eyes dart to the picture of a pink whale. The boy looked at me, confused. Poor kid, I thought. I gave him a spider-caterpillar, and both seemed semi-happy.

Then a spindly, brown-skinned, gorgeous, tiny girl picked the red rose for her right cheek. Big-eyed, she asked, “Can you put God on the other?”

I smiled all teeth and told her I needed more practice for that one, but I gave it a shot anyhow, a big, fat “G-O-D is here” with a smiley face. That was the best I could do on short spiritual notice.

How would you paint a picture of God on a child’s cheek?

C.A. MacConnell

Roger says:

I think God is LOL girl, but that’s just me.



hard as nails says:

How would you paint a picture of God on a child’s cheek?

……….with a roller?



Brenda says:

God is different things to different people. I think maybe I would have asked the child what he or she thought God looked like and go from there.



Babble On says:

Don’t ask me questions like this so early in the morning.



Heather says:

I used to paint faces at the zoo. My specialty was dragons.

Let’s see, if a kid asked me to paint God… I would wet the brush, pretend to dip it in paint, and go to town painting nothing. Then I would tell her that anyone who can’t see the picture of God on her cheek is evil and is going to Hell.



Biscuit says:

I would have said “God?…God?…There is no God, grow up!” Then I would have painted a big “X” on her forehead and said, “The boogie man will come for you later”

I need to do more volunteer work



Justin says:

There is no God. Parents need to stop telling their kids the fairy tales.



Marilyn says:

CA, ‘God is here’ on the child’s cheek is perfect.

I’ll likely be in the minority here, but I do choose to believe that there is something more beyond this plane. And I truly don’t think any of the organized religions have got the true picture. We are too limited by our material existence to even begin to understand the enormity of what is beyond.

But that’s just me.



Bill says:

I agree with Justin. There is no god and the pretending needs to stop. I probably would have told the kid so, but – of course – that would upset church going parents.



C.A. MacConnell says:

Biscuit, I’m rollin’, brother.
I believe there’s God inside and out, an energy between us and all things…the rocks, stars, the rock stars, an energy with no separation. The BELIEF that we are separate is what makes us human, makes us able to have emotion and experience Love. Sometimes, I think that’s why we’re here, to have the opportunity to experience Love, the energy, not romantic love, but universal Love, the divinity. If we tap into it, we experience the divine and recognize the feeling b/c we are human. I’m not going to write a term paper, I promise.

I’m always questioning things though. I love exploring this realm.



Shari says:

I’m more than a little surprised to find so many nonbelievers here.



Andrew says:

I find this post a little too childish for my taste. Just let me say that there is no heaven and there is no hell. Life is what you make it. Treat people the way you want to be treated and live this ONE LIFE that you have to the fullest.



Santa says:

I truly enjoyed CA’s post and for all you nonbelievers out there, I hope you go straight to hell.

Cordially,
Santa



Karen says:

C.A.,
You sound like a very caring person. I have no idea what picture I would have drawn on that child’s face. We don’t know what God looks like, but I’m gonna go with Bruce Springsteen.



Heather says:

Dear Santa,

You are a pagan icon.

See You in Hell,

Heather

P.S. I want a bicycle for Christmas. Please note that my address has recently changed (but you should be used to that by now.)



Marilyn says:

Hell is mentioned here several times. I don’t believe in hell except perhaps a hell of our own making.

I consider myself a very spiritual person, but I refuse any of the labels given by society to spiritual belief.

CA, I’d love it if you wrote a term paper on this subject. Like you, I explore those things we can’t see and can only begin to understand.



hard as nails says:

face painting, not a fan. body painting – now that’s another story. Three suggestions for this.

l. LOL Girl
2. Teri Archer
3. C.A.
4. Marilyn
5. Karen @ the hood
6. Larry

Larry was clearly a joke.



Geri says:

As far as the painting to put on the little child’s face of God, just put a big old heart, because God is love.



Heather says:

I have a term paper on the subject.

Don’t act like you’re not interested!

I don’t believe or disbelieve in God. I don’t know, and I don’t believe anyone else knows either. I do believe we are all inter-connected on a subatomic level.

I don’t believe in Hell, and I think if Hell existed, that would make God evil for allowing it (especially if you just go there for not believing in the right religion.) If I had to choose between an all-powerful god who wanted me to grovel at his feet and worship him, or a devil who said, “You know what? I really hate that guy upstairs!” I would choose the devil.



Marilyn says:

Heather a term paper, really?!

I think I consider GOD a big ole mind-meld of all spirits (not necessarily a big, concrete judge in the sky)… was it Plato who thought of the collective unconsious? I dunno.



Marilyn says:

Hard as nails, I’ve seen body painting. I went to Fantasy Fest in Key West, halloween 2004. OMG! It was a trip. Men and women wearing very little except body paint and all of us mingling in the streets.

It was a fun experience, but I’ll pass on wearing only body paint. My poor old body needs all the covering up it can get!



Jason says:

Anyone ever notice the word god is almost the word good? Just wondering. I know it’s hard to compare given translation, dialect, etc. but I can’t help to see a similarity.

There is only love and fear, every other emotion is a derivative. Use every opportunity to make negative things positive and you will feel good. Or god. At least if you feel good that’s something.

One Love

Nice Post C.A. – Genius as usual



Heather says:

Jason,

Right on.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
