CityBeat’s Living Out Loud – Cincinnati Blog











{January 13, 2007}   Christopher

chris.jpg

Wow guys, check out this picture very closely.

It is the work of Emma Heron, 21, a recent graduate from Wimbledon School of Art. Emma said, “The main idea was to demonstrate a contrast between the west and developing countries where they are still being affected by the aftermath of war – especially land mines. We have so much money and so much technology we barely know what to do with it while people in the developing world have so little.”

This statement just blows me away!

Marilyn

(Christopher: Artwork by Emma Heron)

Laura says:

Truly a moving photograph that represents something I hate. War.



hard as nails says:

photo good, war bad.



Polly says:

What makes this photo sad for me is the reality of it and our so called President has just committed more troops to a war we can’t win. More people will be killed and more little boys like this one will have their legs or arms blown off. We are living in very depressing times.



Rod says:

This is much better than the trash you put up yesterday.



Rita says:

A deplorable situation that is and will continue to be increasing realities to all humans. For America, we can sadly thank the Bush administration and his contribution through the Iraqi war. We hear of the horrible increasing number of deaths but how many are returning home with the loss of body parts, sight, emotional stability, and……. Also sad thanks to the Insurance companies that deny life and available quality limbs to those in need creating often times a prison. Isn’t it bad enough to lose a limb but then to be denied the right to live the best quality of life.

I have had two friends faced with physical challenges – loss of leg and a broken back. They have opened my eyes to way we unconsciously view those with physical and accessibility issues we take for granted.



Rita says:

I forgot to mention. Marilyn – thank you for the empowering message and photo.



Bear says:

Everyone needs to remember that WAR IS HELL. People dying, people losing limbs is part of war.



The young man is obviously hesitating because he’s realized that he’s standing in front of a “Whites Only” prosthetic leg vending machine. How doubly rude of the conquering White imperialists to have bombed away his leg and then taunted him by offering to sell him only pink toned prosthetics to buy with money the probably doesn’t have anyway. Shocking. Awful. No one could have imagined this would ever happen. Right?

The part of the artist’s statement that blows me away is the phrase, “We have so much money … we barely know what to do with it.” Who is this we of whom Emma Heron, 21, speaks?

Speaking for myself, I have so little money I barely know what to do without. Nearly all of the people I know with more money I’d know what to do with (but they most definitely do know what to do with) are perfectly happy to shock and awe the legs off of however many little brown boys (girls, men, women and old folk) as it takes to maintain their way of life. It’s their way, God bless ’em. He does, right?

We, the one-legged boy and I, have more in common than anyone like me does with the bomb dropping, landmining imperialists in both of our midsts. People over here should start understanding better who are the “we”s and who are the “they”s of this world. It’s got less to do with geography or skin tone than it does with our different ways of life.



Danny says:

I agree with what Sam is saying here. I like the photo but the little boy’s skin tone is different that the prosthetic legs in the vending machine. It throws me off, but maybe the artist meant that.



Marilyn says:

Sam, I hear you. Yeah, I’m white. I’m also an right leg amputee due to cancer and complications.

I’ve never had adequate money, ever. Now my insurance is basically refusing to replace my arty leg when it malfunctions…. I guess I’m lucky to have even gotten one even though it has a limited “life span”.

I think (as an amputee, mind you) that the little boy would be happy to have even a pink leg if it helped his mobility. But of course, he can’t afford one of any color. A basic, below knee arty leg costs about $15,000.

I think that Emma was generalizing when she quoted the collective “we”. In general, we here in the west have much more than most other parts of the world. I live in a manufactured home; i.e., double wide trailer. Some people would make fun of this, and indeed, my daughter and I do sometimes. But I know this is a mansion compared to the huts some people live in.



Matt says:

Bear,
Since you like this war so much, why don’t you sign up and haul your ass over to Iraq?



hard as nails says:

bear is married to jean.



David says:

I think Bear is missing the point. Yes, war is hell, but you need to pick the right kinds of war. Going into Iraq because of WMD’s that didn’t exist is the wrong kind of war. It’s a false war that Bush started. It’s also about oil, make no mistake about that.

You’ve heard the old saying pick your battles. This is the wrong battle and thousands of people dead are the end result.



Marilyn says:

Guys, remember that amputees are being “created” everywhere. Not just from the current Iraq war. There are still massive amounts of unexploded landmines all over Vietnam and Cambodia that blow away limbs daily.

One really bad thing about being an amputee in a third world country (aside from the obvious) is that anyone who is considered mutilated, is thought to deserve such a fate (due to a mixed up view of Karma). Because of this thinking, most amputees cannot earn a living and are consigned to begging on the street and being looked down upon at all times by their fellow humans including their own families.



Roy says:

“looked down upon at all times by their fellow humans”

that also happens in his country too, Marilyn. I lost my arm ten years ago. Most employers aren’t interested in looking at me, let alone hiring me. You get treated very differently when you’re an amputee.



Marilyn says:

Roy, don’t I know it! I choose to use a prosthesis that has no cosmetic covering. My arty leg will never be a real leg and covering it with foam rubber just makes it ickier, you know?

I choose to show the pylon and all that, and so I’m constantly greeted with stares out in public. I rather feel proud that I’m a survivor, so I don’t let it bother me. But I am subjected to responses bordering on rude. I can take the children’s reactions, they are just curious. Adults should know better.



Barbara says:

Finally a smart and thought provoking post here today. Yes, fewer comments but smarter comments. What will be tomorrow, Anal rape with thousands of sorted comments?

This web site wants to be too many different things to too many different people, but I’ll take today’s post. Thanks Marilyn for writing it.



hard as nails says:

Yes, fewer comments but smarter comments

barbara, thanks for call me smart. i don’t hear that very often.



Elly says:

Marilyn,

Thanks so much for sharing this picture. It is now my wallpaper on my computer. I want to see it’s beauty (the little boy) and it’s shame (war) everyday – just to remind me what this world is like.



Jim Stanton says:

Terrific post, Marilyn. It’s always a pleasure to read you.



Stumpy says:

The picture offers commentary at many different levels, not the least being that we can find the money for weapons and blowing people up, but the cost of looking after amputees we create is not one we are willing to bear.

Watching a superb and disturbing documentary last week here in Australia about Iraq in the weeks leading up to this pointless war, and beyond, one character said something I shall never forget:

“War is a business but the poor get to die for free”

It’s called In the Shadow of the Palms . There’s more here:
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0495351/plotsummary
Well worth seeing.

Just think of how we’d be feted in Iraq if we spent half of the cost of war on building hospitals, schools and mosques. Would we be hated so much?



Marilyn says:

Greetings Stumpy,

I have to hope your moniker doesn’t mean you are an amputee also.

I followed your link to the movie review. I will try to find a copy of this documentary to watch.

I share your thoughts on the senseless war in Iraq. I feel helpless to do much more than speak out against the killing. But I do speak against the war at every opportunity.



Lucy says:

Ja, dat zou je er inderdaad uit kunnen halen. Ik had hem in ieder geval niet gezien, dus wat mij betreft mag je die er dan wel iets dikker bovenop leggen. Hyves heeft daar leuke sm1i&ye#82l7;s voor, misschien is dat wat?



Leave a Reply

et cetera
