CityBeat’s Living Out Loud – Cincinnati Blog











{January 30, 2007}   Oh, the Life of a Blogger

blogger.jpgIt has been suggested by a couple of well-meaning people that I take over Larry’s job as owner of this blog.

To this I reply: Thanks so much for thinking I’m up to the task; but no thanks, because I’m not.

I have the luxury of taking days and days to write a post. I can put as much or as little thought into the post as I like. And, guess what? I don’t get the number of responses that other posts generate.

What a lot of folks don’t realize is that it takes a lot of work to come up with a daily blog post, and even more work to watch diligently for people who would make the inappropriate response which must then be deleted.

I’m sending this to Larry in the hopes that he will put this up as an additional post today. I have no clue if he will, he certainly has a mind of his own; but I just needed to say what’s on my mind this afternoon.

Thanks for listening. And yes, Larry will be as surprised at the receipt of this little post as you are.

Marilyn

(Photo of Larry’s keyboard after he passed out and tipped over his bottle of vodka from http://www.ivyjk.blogger.com)

Patrica says:

Your posts are well thought out and requires people to think. Maybe that’s why the comments are lower. A story like “I Want it Now” doesn’t require someone to think. It just requires someone to get pissed off at a pig.



Barbara says:

it takes a lot of work to come up with a daily blog post

How much work did it take to list out a fat man’s lunch yesterday? A minute?



Marilyn says:

Barbara, to quote from the movie Bad Santa (BS is talking to the little curly haired kid): “They can’t all be winners, kid.”



Karen says:

Actually, I like most of the ones that are put up and Marilyn, you have never written a bad one.

I know Larry and I know he has mixed feelings about doing this thing but so many of us like it. I hope he doesn’t stop.



Marilyn says:

from Larry’s post: (Photo of Larry’s keyboard after he passed out and tipped over his bottle of vodka…)

Larry, I actually ruined a keyboard by missing the coaster on my computer desk and dumping an entire vodka tonic into the keyboard. I was ‘puterless for several days and about went nuts. It wasn’t pretty.



Laura says:

A lot of the time here, I think the writer is looking for a reaction more than a comment. Posts written by Paul or this Mike Hunt fool plainly are written to get a rise out of people That generates noise, not comments. Go back and read through them.



Matt says:

The comments are sometimes better than the posts and I think that’s why I frequent – but to read through them all before putting them up? That would get old.



Susan says:

Marilyn, your posts are the best ones by far. So many of the others are just to shock. You and Karen @ the hood are the best writers here.



Larry Gross says:

“Larry, I actually ruined a keyboard by missing the coaster on my computer desk and dumping an entire vodka tonic into the keyboard.”

I was with you. Don’t you remember? God, were we ever drunk.



Marilyn says:

Gawd, Larry… I must’ve experienced a black out!



Erin says:

I like the variety here – even the stuff that is suppose to shock me some how. Most of the time i laugh at it. Marilyn, I like your stuff but don’t change guards now.



Kelly says:

I love visiting here, but I could never do this, would take up too much time.



Janice says:

I do think someone else should take this over. You put up a great post on Sunday but since then, its more shock than anything else. Today’s “Sitting Room” would have been passable, but there you have a girl sitting on a toilet seat. More bad taste.



Gregory Flannery says:

Girls should not be allowed to sit on toilet seats?



Janice says:

Gregory Flannery, I know who you are and I won’t fall for the bait. Putting up a photo of anybody on a toilet seat doing their business is sickening and that’s the only reason why it was put up here and you know it.



Marilyn says:

Gregory Flannery, I know who you are and I don’t like it one bit!



Gregory Flannery says:

Wait! I thought we were working on getting Larry fired…



Karen says:

Firing Larry would pretty much be the end of this blog, don’t ya think? Who else would put up with all the nuts here?



Marilyn says:

Oops, sorry. I’m playing both sides of the fence. Getting drunk with Larry, and working with Gregory to get Larry fired. Dang, I suck!



Jackie says:

Is Larry seriously thinking about not doing this anymore?



Heather says:

1) I love Bad Santa

2) Coming up with blog posts every day IS difficult

3) Women should not sit on toilet seats, but hover over them (my grandma drilled this into my head long before I was tall enough to do it without peeing on the seat).



Heather says:

Hey, someone needs to visit my blog.

Click on my name.



hard as nails says:

Women should not sit on toilet seats, but hover over them

hmmmmmmmmmmm…….brandy seems to be sitting firmly on that toilet seat……….oh by god………..she’s going to die!!!!



Marilyn says:

Heather, a blast from my (bathroom) past:

“no need to stand on seats with feets,
’cause crabs in here jump 15 feet.”



Marilyn says:

Well, shit!

I write another of my brilliant, thought provoking (but not post provoking, essays and it STILL deteriorates to bathroom humor!



Man of the Hour says:

it STILL deteriorates to bathroom humor!

Anyone who says they don’t like bathroom humor is lying.



Anna says:

I’ve been over at the other City Beat blogs and all of a sudden they are making posts like no tomorrow. Someone had to wake them up. I wonder who that someone was?

Even when others write, Larry is this blog. You take him away, this will be as dry as the other CB blogs.



Beth says:

Marilyn,
I like everyone here, but you I love. Please don’t ever stop writing here 🙂



Foley says:

Larry Gross is a fucking liberal asshole.



Foley says:

p.s. who should be tarred and feathered. I hate the son of a bitch.



Heather says:

MARK Foley? The pedophile?



Foley says:

Leave me alone. You’ll be next.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
