CityBeat’s Living Out Loud – Cincinnati Blog











{February 8, 2007}   Dave Matthews Should Just Shut Up and Sing

dave_matthews.jpg

I know I live in Cincinnati and not in the real world, but don’t you think musicians should just shut up about their political views and sing? They don’t know anything about politics, let alone giving their opinions on war. You need to leave that to our leaders, to our decider – George W. Bush.

Here’s a video clip I found of Matthews being interviewed by Bill Maher on Real Time during the lead up to the war in Iraq. Clearly this songwriting, hippie freak kind of guy can’t predict the outcome of this war – just another radical liberal opening his mouth. Just like those Dixie Chicks, this idiot should keep his opinions to himself.

Give it a look, if you can stand it. Tell me what you think.

Willie Redneck

(Photo of Dave Matthews: http://www.celebodedia.com)

Ciesko Kid says:

Oh,Willie, you poor fool of a tool. Don’t you realize that anyone
who supported the invasion of Iraq was manipulated by the Bushies, using fear and a false sense of nationalism?
Any entertainer who has the spotlight on them and chooses to speak out against or in favor of issues they care about? It’s called freedom of speech and if you don’t like it, no one is forcing you to listen. Just turn off the TV, radio, whatever mass media tit you’re sucking from.

Wake up and smell the garbage, y’all. There’s a lot of dead bodies in there too.



Paula says:

Dave Matthews is god, George Bush is evil and John T. Sixteen is misguided.



Jackie says:

This just made me mad, how we were all taken in my Bush’s lies. I fell for it but not Dave Matthews or Bill Maher.



Sarah says:

Dave Matthews rocks my world! How come you didn’t put up a music video?



Tess says:

Dave & Bill were right, of course, about the outcome of this war. I have never been behind “the decider” at all and yesterday’s post by this John Sixteen guy really upset me. How can he think this president deserves some kind of honor? Thousands of our kids have been killed over there and for what? Blind faith is for fools.



Amy says:

This was a great clip for sure. Why so many of us couldn’t see through the lies of Bush is totally frustrating.



Nick says:

Don’t you realize that anyone
who supported the invasion of Iraq was manipulated by the Bushies, using fear and a false sense of nationalism?

…and we bit the line, hook – line- and sinker. If we could only go back.



Polly says:

“Give it a look, if you can stand it. Tell me what you think.”

Dave Matthews for president?



Matt says:

“If I Could Back Time”
-Cher



hard as nails says:

“i’m not a crook”
-richard nixon



Beth says:

I L O V E B I L L M A H E R

Stewert, Cobert, who cares about those guys. Bill is honest and funny and smart. I hate it when Real Time goes on break.



Karen says:

I love Bill Maher too. He’s always pissing people off for telling the truth.

………..sound familiar – Larry 🙂



Matt says:

Larry Gross pisses people off? Brian Griffin isn’t one of them is it? Oh yeah, sorry, that’s a given.



Fran says:

Yes, Yes, YES! Put up some Matthews music. That would make the night.



Jennifer White says:

The Dave Matthews Band is super cool and Bill Maher is super smart and funny! I’m glad I’ve found this blog. Searching other places locally, this seems to be the one happening.



numb says:

willie or gross for president. same thing.



David Gallaher says:

Jennifer White,
This site is the only one happening because it’s the only one on more-or-less real time.
Why is that? I mean, is it because this is …… the ‘Nati?



Gus_Johnson says:

Willie Nelson for president, Dave for vp. Weekly bbq’s on the south lawn.

Dave looks like he’s a little barbecued in this clip.



John T. Sixteen says:

If I want my health assessed, I go to a doctor. If I want to fly to the West Coast, a trained pilot does it. Why is it we think that musicians or entertainers are suddenly political analysts or military strategists? Everyone’s entitled to an opinion. Dave should go back to singing or crapping on tourists on the Chicago River and Bill should go back to checking himself in the monitor to make sure he looks smug enough.



Billy Boy says:

Cling to your bible, JTS. With GW Bush as your personal savior, you’re gonna need that book of fairy tales to pull you through.



John T. Sixteen says:

“Cling to your bible, JTS. With GW Bush as your personal savior, you’re gonna need that book of fairy tales to pull you through.”

…and how does that address the issue at hand?



C.A. says:

I’ve liked Dave immensely for a long while. I used to see him play frat houses & parties in VA, which is where they started out…Charlottesville area. They were all about the music. That’s it. I lived there then, and we had big parties in cabins and fields. A bunch of bands would play…like a mini Woodstock. Becoming a star happened fast, very fast for him. If I were a star, I wonder if I would become suddenly political…hmmm

Anyhow, the guy was good then and he’s good now. But I still like this guy, and his music. But I think if he doesn’t drink some serious tea and cut back on whatever’s makin him chewy, he might lose his voice.



FOXYROXY says:

Willie Nelson for President? Hell yes. But frankly, Dave Matthews should just shut up, period. His music makes me want to shove a fork into any available orifice.



Gus_Johnson says:

What C.A. said



Leave a Reply

et cetera
