CityBeat’s Living Out Loud – Cincinnati Blog











{February 15, 2007}   Bill’s Back Tomorrow Night

new-season.jpg

The Daily Show with Jon Stewart and The Colbert Report are the two comedy shows that mostly get the attention when it comes to making fun of politics and/or the news, but Real Time with Bill Maher is better than both of them combined.

Maher is quick, smart and wickedly funny and he’s not afraid to tackle any subject and state this view on it. His “New Rules” closing segment is always a gas and I’ve been known to rip him off and make up some of my own.

His show has been on break since November, so it’s been a long winter for me here in Cincinnati waiting for him to get back at it – and he is this coming Friday night at 11:00 p.m. on HBO.

Below is a YouTube clip of some of the funny and insightful moments from the show. Take a look and see what you’ve been missing.

Larry Gross

(Graphic from HBO)

Julie says:

Maher is great but I can’t afford HBO just to watch one show.



Rally says:

I’m with ya man. Real Time rules on Fridays.



Janice says:

Well this explains a lot. As far as I’m concerned, Bill Maher is a blow hard know it all with a big chip on his shoulders. He likes to put down the president, put down opinions he doesn’t like and put down people who believe in God.

Remind you of anyone?



Matt says:

Hey Julie, You don’t need to have HBO to watch Real Time – just download a uTorrent and watch it for free. I got your e-mail address, I’ll write down the instructions and send them to you. As for the rest of you guys, figure it out!



Susan says:

Janice,
You are I will probably get beat up on, but both Maher and Gross are two very negative people – Maher nationally and Gross here locally.

I come here for the smart posts – like from Marilyn or Karen, but those posts are few and far between. Gross’ constant put down on this city wears thin. Like with Bill Maher, I just try to tune him out.



hard as nails says:

yes. the wicked promoting the wicked. seems right to me.



BrianCiesko says:

Yeh, Maher pokes a bit deeper into WHY things are fucked up, not just making fun of it like Stewart and Colbert {no cutdown on them, those 2 are masters of what they do}
And, Janice and Susan, WHY do we keep harping on the negative aspects of Li’l George Bush, his policies and Cincinnati and how the it’s run? Because those are some of the most ass-backwards things in the world today.
We @ LOL don’t put down people whose opinions we don’t like, just the ones whose opinions are so wrong it needs to be pointed out to them.

Ahh, freedom of speech. Word to your media manipulated “thoughts”.



Rita says:

I love Maher. I can’t afford HBO or anything but dial up. Boo hoo – literally poor me.

Wouldn’t it be great if Maher would invite Larry to be one of his guest. I would actually consider selling a small unnecessary body organ to watch that one. Or better yet, if any of you would like to make a body organ donation and pledge the money to me – that would be great too.

Troy – no offense but your tiny donation would probably not even get me basic cable. Thanks anyway.



Jackie says:

Rita,

Maher rocks! I can’t afford HBO either, but do a google search for YouTude and then search for Bill Maher. Ihey have the best clips from Real Time. The one here is from that site.



Matt says:

Janice,
Larry and Bill have one thing in common: They tell the fucking truth. So sorry you don’t have the stomach for it.



Karen @ the hood says:

I thought the clip was funny!



Tim says:

I have noticed one thing over and over again when people make comments about how negative this blog is on Cincinnati. Not one of them have ever pointed out what’s good about Cincinnati. Let me point out a couple: Not outrageous property values and not a bad place at all to raise a family.

There, I started it. Let’s see if anyone else who complains here can come up with anything.

As for this blog, yes the truth does hurt and I’m glad LOL is around to point it out.



Karen says:

Tim, you also rock 🙂



Randell says:

I consider Bill Maher a little prick. I consider Larry Gross just a little annoying at times.



Chin says:

Just like in Hollywood where Maher lives, people here in Cincinnati are entitled to opinions and this blog certainly has one and that’s why I return here. There’s a lot wrong with Cincinnati and pretending like there’s not seems stupid to me.



Roy M. says:

I’m not a fan of this piece of shit blog but others in my office talk about it so I take a view every once in a while.

This post is amusing to me. One asshole promoting another one. I know more about Maher than Gross. What he said after 9/11 should have kept the son of a bitch off the air. ABC was right to cancel his ass. Sooooooooo sorry HBO picked him up. Give it some time, he’ll be gone from there too.



Vanessa says:

Brian said “Yeh, Maher pokes a bit deeper into WHY things are fucked up.”

That’s why I pay my money to HBO. When Real Time takes a break, I get depressed. I love this show.



Man of the Hour says:

I’m not a fan of this piece of shit blog.

Thanks for stopping in, Roy. Now, go home to Western Hills, have your fried chicken for dinner, read the Enquirer, then watch the FOX news channel.

Sleep well, you Cincinnati asshole.



Polly says:

We all have a right to speak our minds, you know a free country and all. I’m surprised this little youtube post is getting so much attention. Maybe its because mentioning Larry and Bill at the same time is a bit much for some people. Not for me – I enjoy them both.



Matt says:

Roy M,

You made us all cry here. 😦



Jim Stanton says:

Larry,
Just read YOUR new rules. Really funny!



Bitch from Price Hill says:

Oh, hello, Roy M.

Are you sure you’re not Troy – you know, the guy with a penis the size of a toothpick?

If you are, good luck in screwing yourself.



Rita says:

Oh Roy M.
I’m sensing someone got up on the wrong side of the bed a couple elections and voted for George W.

I’m sure you are not a Fox News guy; I picture you as a dedicated fan of Jerry Falwell. Bush you.



Erin says:

GOD ROCKS LARRY GROSS AND BILL MAHER. Truth is what we need.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
