CityBeat’s Living Out Loud – Cincinnati Blog











{April 26, 2007}   Life, Love & Sex after Divorce

bed-people.jpg

I’m been divorced for something like 13 years now. Man how time flies.

During that time, I’ve had my share of relationships. Some worked out to some degree; others failed almost right on the spot. I’ve written about it a few times in the old column. To read one I wrote a few years back, click here. I’ll wait.

I’m still waiting. Did you really read it?

What do you think? What kind of sexual relationships have you had after the big old d-i-v-o-r-c-e? Did they work out or do you wish you could go back to married life again?

Larry Gross

(Photo found in Larry’s wallet)

Marilyn says:

Larry, I re-read it.

I’ve sworn on the entire dead population of the world’s head that I will never get married again.

Marriage is archaic. I don’t believe that when you are a 20-something year old kid that you can honestly pick someone who will grow with you. Growing apart is generally what happens.



Del says:

Lesson learned after a 5 year bad marriage? Never again.



Jane says:

I’m counting toes here Larry. I know that ain’t you in the bes!



Dan says:

I’ve only been reading you for over a year now so the article you attached was new to me.

Your take on agressive women was funny to me. I have had the same experience myself and it’s a big turn off. I agree with you. I want to get to know a person first before hopping in the sack.



Jackie says:

I don’t think I’m all that aggressive when it comes to guys, but sometimes you all move so slow, a girl has to do something.



Karen says:

It was fun to reread that column again. I wish you would really take me out but I won’t go there again 🙂



Hubby and I have made it almost ten years without any separations.

I’m hoping I never have to face the big D.

Marilyn’s right though, it’s not like I had any clue how to make a wise choice in life partners when I was 19.

Seems to be working out so far.



Plus, there are no dry spells in the sex life, which is nice.



Bill says:

Plus, there are no dry spells in the sex life, which is nice.

Really, Heather? What’s the secret? My marriage has been nothing but one long dry spell.



J. Martin says:

Huh? People still get married these days?



Hank says:

I love it when women withdraw sex as a weapon to use against men. I was married once and that will do it for me.



hard as nails says:

larry has dates? it must be the hair.



Doug says:

All I can say is I’m much happier being single. My ex-wife and I are still friends, but being married means the sameness all the time and I’m talking about sex and I know she feels the same way. Variety is the spice of life and I finally figured out I’m not the type of guy to be with the same woman all the time.



C.A. says:

I read it…I thought it was really good, really heartfelt and honest. I’ve never been divorced. I’ve never been married or had babies. Hell, I’ve never even lived with anybody, and I hardly ever date. Sometimes I feel like I’m behind the masses. It seems like all around me, my friends are getting hitched and having babies. Other times, I just figure it’s not been in my plan so far. And I guess I’m used to bein’ on my own. Suits me. It’d take something magic for me to jump in.



C.A. says:

And…I am a child of divorce. That was a doozy.



Karen @ the hood says:

C.A.,
Your words always get to me.



C.A. says:

I could say the same thing about your words, for real, my friend.



Ned says:

I have never been married and after reading some of these comments, think I’ll keep it that way.



jackula says:

god, i’m glad i’m gay and don’t have to go through this crap.



hard as nails says:

is larry having his way and screwing teri archer?



Man of the Hour says:

At least from the photo, she’s on top. At least you can relax.



C.A.,

I’m a child of divorce also (kind of, my folks weren’t actually married). That’s another reason why I hope I never get divorced.

Doug,
“being married means the sameness all the time and I’m talking about sex”

Does not!

Bill,
“My marriage has been nothing but one long dry spell.”

That’s terrible, I’m sorry. I don’t have any secrets, though. I know people in the same situation, but to me it’s incomprehensible that you can have a male and a female in the same place for any length of time without sex happening. I’ve never even gotten the concept of boy-girl room mates.



Marilyn says:

Jane wrote: I’m counting toes here Larry. I know that ain’t you in the bes!

My response: Well the woman sure ain’t me, cause that woman has two feet!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
